Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences


The Institute of Health Biosciences, the predecessor of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, was established 12 years ago in April 2004 by integrating the Divisions of Medical Sciences, Oral Sciences, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Nutrition and Bioscience. With the later addition of the Division of Health Sciences, the affiliated educational organization now includes three undergraduate faculties and five graduate schools.

With respect to education, we strongly encourage communication and cooperation among researchers. With respect to research, we pursue unique bioscience research by promoting collaboration through various avenues including those across fields as well as within each department and those with advanced research establishments outside the university including ones overseas.

The institute was renamed the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (BMS) in April 2015. Incorporating the Division of Medical Science (41 departments under 5 subdivisions), Division of Oral Science (26 departments under 3 subdivisions), Division of Pharmaceutical Science (20 departments under 4 subdivisions), Division of Nutrition and Bioscience (8 departments under 1 subdivision), Division of Health Science (24 departments under 3 subdivisions), and newly established Division of Industry-Government-Academia Collaboration (9 departments under 2 subdivisions), the BMS has become a unique research center in bioscience.

As a professional organization of bioscience research, we will continue our efforts in presenting the world with significant findings of our research.